Commissioners deadlocked on county mayor appointment

After three rounds of voting, there is a deadlock, with Joyce Avery eliminated. Joe Ford has five votes (Democrats Steve Mulroy, Matt Kuhn and Sidney Chism and Republicans Mike Ritz and Wyatt Bunker) and J.W. Gibson has five votes (Democrats Deidre Malone, James Harvey and Henri Brooks and Republicans Mike Carpenter and George Flinn).

Commissioners are discussing whether to postpone the vote.

Leave a comment

Type the characters you see in the picture above.

  • About

As the process for merging Shelby County's schools accelerates into action, we'll provide bonus coverage here at, with a particular focus on the 21-member transition team and the 23-member unified school board. Comment early and often. If you have any tips or suggestions you wish to share, contact Zack McMillin at or 529-2564.

  • Zack McMillin on Twitter